Editorial buying review
PETKIT YumShare Solo Camera Review (vs Solo 2)

Quick decision
Choose the camera format only for a monitoring question you will act on
Best for
A one-pet dry-food routine where visual meal checks, night vision, or two-way audio have a defined purpose.
Skip if
You do not want an indoor camera, only need scheduled dispensing, or need two food compartments.
Editorial buying review · Updated · ByPet Product Compass Editorial ·Editorial policy ·Methodology
Quick answer
The PETKIT YumShare Solo with Camera combines a 3-liter automatic dry-food feeder with documented 1080p video, night vision, two-way audio, and app-based monitoring. Its purchase case is not that a camera is automatically better. It is that seeing activity around a meal can answer a question that a dispensing log cannot.
Consider it when visual context will lead to an action: checking whether a pet approached, understanding what happened around a skipped visit, or giving a caregiver more context while you are away. Skip it when the only task is timed dry-food dispensing or when an always-present indoor camera does not fit the household.
Product identity and format
The researched product record is a compact 3-liter or 12-cup feeder for dry food. The Amazon listing (as of Oct 18, 2026) lists 2.4GHz and 5GHz Wi-Fi. Available documentation describes a 1080p camera with night vision and two-way audio. It sits between the no-camera Fresh Element Solo and the larger dual-hopper camera model in this site’s current PETKIT set.
The feeder format still matters more than the camera label. It dispenses dry food from one hopper into one bowl area. Video may provide context around that area, but it does not physically reserve food for a particular cat.
YumShare Solo vs Solo 2: what changed
YumShare Solo 2 (P572) keeps the 3-liter, one-hopper dry-food format and, per PETKIT’s YumShare Solo 2 product page, adds face recognition for up to 15 pets, per-cat meal records, bowl remaining-food detection, and 2.4/5GHz Wi-Fi. The YumShare Solo 2 launch blog describes separate records for each cat, with arrival time, meal duration, portion consumed, and bowl images before and after.
| Row | YumShare Solo (P571) | YumShare Solo 2 (P572) |
|---|---|---|
| Model | P571 | P572 |
| Capacity | 3L | 3L (12 cups) |
| Wi-Fi | 2.4GHz only (P571 manual). The Amazon listing above also lists 5GHz (as of Oct 18, 2026) | 2.4 and 5GHz |
| Face recognition | Not stated by PETKIT | Yes, up to 15 pets |
| Per-cat meal records | Not stated by PETKIT | Yes. Arrival time, meal duration, portion consumed, and bowl images before and after |
| Bowl remaining-food detection | Not stated by PETKIT | Yes. Monitors the bowl and can pause dispensing when full |
| Camera (resolution/night) | 1080p with night vision (documented above) | Full HD (blog); no number stated. Infrared at night |
| Battery backup | 5 AAA alkaline batteries | Specs list 5 AAA; the same page’s FAQ says four D batteries (see the note below the table) |
| Camera on battery power | Not stated by PETKIT | Off. PETKIT says the camera is disabled in battery mode |
| Kibble size | Kibble up to 12mm; freeze-dried up to 9mm | Dry food only. Kibble up to 0.47 in (12mm); freeze-dried up to 0.35 in (9mm). No wet food |
| Elevated stand | Not stated by PETKIT | Comes with an elevated stand (launch blog) |
| Launch / on-sale date | Not stated by PETKIT | Not stated by PETKIT (launch blog dated May 11, 2026) |
PETKIT’s Solo 2 product page gives different figures in different places on three points. We list them as written and do not pick one; go by the unit and the manual you receive.
- Battery: the specs list “AAA alkaline battery*5 (not included)” (5 AAA). The FAQ says “With four D batteries installed (sold separately)”.
- Weight: the specs list “3.94 lbs (1.8kg)”. The compare table on the same page lists “3.74 lbs (1.7 kg)”.
- Portions: the specs list “1-5 portions”. The compare table on the same page lists “1-5 portions (10-50g)”. The FAQ says “Up to 10 meals per day, with 1-10 portions per meal.”
Who should pick which. A multi-cat household that wants a separate meal record for each cat has a reason to pick YumShare Solo 2. A household that only needs visual context around one bowl can stay with the original YumShare Solo. PETKIT’s own Solo 2 compare widget does not list the original Solo, and the PETKIT pages we checked do not say whether it is discontinued.
When the camera adds buying value
A scheduled feeder can indicate that a programmed action occurred. A camera can help a person see what happened around that action. That difference may matter for a household that travels, shares care responsibilities, or wants to check whether a cat visited the feeding area.
The information is useful only if someone will respond to it. If the household will not review footage, adjust the routine, or contact a caregiver based on what it sees, the camera may be an unused upgrade. A clearer buying decision starts with the action, not the feature list.
Privacy and connected-service questions
An indoor pet camera introduces choices about account security, microphone access, recording schedules, retention, notifications, and who can view the feed. Those questions belong before checkout, not after installation.
PETKIT’s current YumShare materials discuss connected camera functions and note that some services may involve in-app purchases. Terms can differ by model generation and can change. Read the current app listing and merchant page for the exact ASIN, decide when the camera should be active, and verify which functions operate without a paid plan.
Food, placement, and network fit
This is a dry-food feeder. Confirm the current listing and manual for exact kibble limits rather than transferring a limit from another model. The 3-liter capacity is more compact than the 5-liter dual-hopper option, but capacity should be matched to the cat’s actual daily amount and a conservative refill schedule.
The Amazon listing (as of Oct 18, 2026) lists 2.4GHz and 5GHz Wi-Fi. An older manual (model P571) lists 2.4 GHz only, so check the manual that came with the unit. Verify that network setup works where the feeder will sit. Camera usefulness also depends on placement: the lens needs a practical view of the bowl area without turning a pet-product purchase into unwanted household surveillance.
Best-fit situations
YumShare Solo is easiest to justify for a one-bowl dry-food routine where remote visual context matters and a second hopper does not. It may fit a person who is away during some meals and wants to see activity around the feeder rather than rely only on a schedule.
It can also make sense when the compact body is preferred over a larger two-compartment design. The decision remains conditional: video is valuable when it solves an observation problem, not simply because it is available.
Reasons to skip it
Choose a no-camera feeder when scheduling is the entire job. That avoids paying for a feature you do not intend to use and removes one set of privacy and service-term decisions. Choose a different format when the routine needs wet-food handling, two compatible foods, larger capacity, or physical access control.
A camera should not be treated as medical monitoring. If eating behavior creates a health concern, the appropriate response is not to infer a diagnosis from a product feed.
Comparison with Fresh Element Solo and Dual-hopper 2
Fresh Element Solo offers the narrower purchase: 3-liter dry-food scheduling without video. It is the stronger starting point when the household does not need remote observation.
YumShare Dual-hopper 2 expands to 5 liters, two compartments, and camera-based multi-cat records. It is relevant when food management and monitoring are both needed. The extra hardware and connected functions also create more setup and maintenance questions.
YumShare Solo occupies the middle: camera context without the larger dual-hopper format. That middle position is useful only when its exact combination matches the routine. How this model differs from YumShare Solo 2 is covered in YumShare Solo vs Solo 2: what changed above.
Evidence and unresolved performance questions
The documented camera resolution, night vision, two-way audio, connectivity, ASIN, and dated merchant information come from official PETKIT materials and the merchant listing. The primary image is supplied by the merchant.
Pet Product Compass has not tested image quality, notification delay, recognition accuracy, audio quality, app stability, dispensing consistency, cleaning time, or internet-outage behavior. The available sources establish the listed feature set, not independent performance. One practical use of the camera is checking that a scheduled meal actually reached the bowl. If it did not, our automatic cat feeder not dispensing food guide lists PETKIT’s checks in order, from the manual feed test to contacting support.
What to verify on the current listing
Confirm the exact model generation, ASIN, seller, size, included parts, stock, returns, app requirements, and any subscription-dependent functions. Check whether the listing is P571 or P572. Model-family pages can change, and the newest family description may not map feature-for-feature to an older listing.
As of Nov 1, 2026, the Amazon listing this page links to (ASIN B0CFFKWYH6) gives the item model number as P571, the first-generation YumShare Solo, and shows a notice that a newer model exists. Its title and bullets also list 2.4G&5G Wi-Fi and multi-cat face recognition, which the P571 manual does not state; check the model number on the listing and the box.
Use the retailer page for dynamic details only after deciding that the camera has a clear role. A promotion badge alone is not enough reason to add connected complexity.
Is the YumShare Solo discontinued?
The PETKIT pages we checked do not say that the YumShare Solo is discontinued. On the Solo 2 product page, the compare widget lists YumShare Solo 2, YumShare Dual-hopper 2, Fresh Element Solo, and YumShare Dual-hopper. The original YumShare Solo is not on that list, but PETKIT does not explain why, so check the current listing before you buy.
Does the YumShare Solo 2 work on 5GHz Wi-Fi?
Yes. PETKIT’s YumShare Solo 2 specs list 2.4 and 5GHz Wi-Fi, and the same page’s FAQ says both 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz networks. The original P571 manual says that model supports 2.4GHz Wi-Fi but not 5GHz. The Amazon listing cited above (as of Oct 18, 2026) lists 2.4GHz and 5GHz, so check whether the listing you are on is P571 or P572.
Verdict
Consider PETKIT YumShare Solo with Camera if you want a compact dry-food feeder and can name the decision that visual meal context will change. It is a format choice for observation, not a universal upgrade over a no-camera feeder.
Look elsewhere if timed dispensing is enough, if an indoor camera does not fit your privacy preferences, if you need two food compartments, or if the routine requires selective access rather than observation.
Official product guidance
Setup and cleaning videos
These remote embeds come from PETKIT OFFICIAL and are provided as manufacturer guidance, not independent testing.
PETKIT YumShare Solo setup guide
PETKIT OFFICIAL. Linked from official petkit manual; source checked 2026-07-17.
Verify the manual sourcePETKIT YumShare Solo cleaning guide
PETKIT OFFICIAL. Linked from official petkit manual; source checked 2026-07-17.
Verify the manual sourceContinue with the full buying guide
This is product-specific context. Read the article for the wider buyer decision before taking the sponsored merchant action.
Read the buying guideWhat to verify before buying
Product listings can change. Check the exact variant, size, ingredient or material information, directions, warnings, seller, return terms and current availability before buying.
Last checked: 2026-07-17. This page does not present hands-on product testing.
Ready to check the current listing?
If the fit and limitations above match your needs, verify the exact variant, seller and current terms on the merchant page.
Related products to read about

Cats that free-feed on dry food without overeating, and owners who want a simple, power-free backup for a short absence
- Best for
- Cats that free-feed on dry food without overeating, and owners who want a simple, power-free backup for a short absence
- Before buying
- Confirm the current listing details.
Skip if: Your cat needs measured portions or a weight-management plan, eats wet food, or shares the bowl with a cat that overeats.
What to verify before buying
Product listings can change. Check the exact variant, size, ingredient or material information, directions, warnings, seller, return terms and current availability before buying.
Last checked: 2026-10-21. This page does not present hands-on product testing.
- Source: Amazon product listing (ASIN B0FVLW7C26)

Multi-cat homes where one cat needs to be kept away from another cat's food, such as a prescription, weight-management, or kitten diet
- Best for
- Multi-cat homes where one cat needs to be kept away from another cat's food, such as a prescription, weight-management, or kitten diet
- Before buying
- Confirm the current listing details.
Skip if: You need scheduled portions while away, want to use your cat's implanted microchip instead of a collar tag, or need one bowl to admit several cats.
What to verify before buying
Product listings can change. Check the exact variant, size, ingredient or material information, directions, warnings, seller, return terms and current availability before buying.
Last checked: 2026-10-11. This page does not present hands-on product testing.
- Source: Amazon product listing (ASIN B0HLK7BV2N)
- Source: Amazon product listing (ASIN B0HLK1D2H3)