Buying guide
Ceramic vs Stainless Steel Cat Water Fountain: Parts Table
Ceramic vs stainless steel cat water fountain parts: which piece is ceramic, steel, or plastic, and which parts each manual allows in a dishwasher.
Editorial buying guide · Updated · ByPet Product Compass Editorial ·Editorial policy ·Methodology

The practical difference between a ceramic and a stainless steel cat water fountain is which part is which material: the Avalon Ceramic has a ceramic bowl and tower, the 360 Stainless has a stainless cone and parts, and the PETKIT models put steel on one part, the tray or the tank, with ABS plastic elsewhere. On dishwashers, the Avalon Ceramic manual says “Dishwasher Safe (excluding pump),” the Raindrop ceramic listing says “Dishwasher safe,” and the 360 Stainless manual also allows the fountain once the pump is out. The pump stays out of the dishwasher wherever a manual names it.
Manuals, two listings, the MAX 2 sheet, a warranty page, and site records were read on Oct 28, 2026. Record dates stay in the table. The table does not rank materials.
Ceramic vs stainless steel cat water fountain parts
“Not stated” means that file does not mention a dishwasher. Plastic rows sit beside ceramic and steel. PetSafe, Pioneer Pet, and the EVERSWEET MAX 2 (Cordless) are not products on this site. An ASIN is an identifier, not a store link.
| Model | Type | Drinking surface | Tank or body | Dishwasher, which parts | Never in dishwasher, or not immersible | Source and date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PetSafe Drinkwell Avalon Ceramic, ASIN B00BD3TO82 | Ceramic | Ceramic. Manual: “Ceramic Design”, 70 oz. | Ceramic bowl and tower. | “Dishwasher Safe (excluding pump).” Top rack for the fountain. | “THE PUMP IS NOT DISHWASHER SAFE!” | Manual and listing, Oct 28, 2026 |
| Pioneer Pet Raindrop, ASIN B005LVJM4I | Ceramic | White ceramic, 60 oz., listing title. | Not split out in the bullets we read. | “Dishwasher safe, ceramic allows for easy cleaning.” No pump exception in that bullet. | Not stated in those bullets. | Listing, Oct 28, 2026 |
| PetSafe Drinkwell 360 Stainless | Stainless parts | Stainless steel cone and stainless steel parts. | Not given as a second material. | Fountain after the pump is removed. No abrasive pads; they can scratch stainless steel. | “DO NOT PLACE PUMP IN DISHWASHER!” | Manual, Oct 28, 2026. Listing ASIN B002SB91QS did not load. |
| PETKIT EverSweet 3 Pro | Stainless tank, plastic tray | ABS plastic tray (site record). | 304 stainless steel tank. Also ABS, silicone, PP. | Not stated. | Not stated. | Record Oct 19, 2026; manual Oct 28, 2026 |
| PETKIT EVERSWEET MAX Cordless, CT-W3 | Stainless tray, ABS body | “304 Stainless Steel Water Control Tray.” Record: non-stick coating. | ABS. Materials: “ABS, 304 Stainless Steel.” | CT-W3 manual does not mention a dishwasher. | Not stated. | Manual Oct 28, 2026; record Oct 20, 2026 |
| PETKIT EVERSWEET MAX 2 (Cordless) | Sheet lists parts, not materials. | Water tray; material not stated. | Water tank; material not stated. | Tray, lid, filter holder, tank, outlet pipe. | Control module, base, wireless water pump, filter. | MAX 2 sheet, Oct 28, 2026. Not the site MAX. |
| Gardner Pet Cordless | Stainless tray | Stainless steel tray. 304 on brand listing images, per the site record. | Body material not in the lines used here. | Not stated. | Battery module cannot be immersed in water. | Record; listing Oct 11, 2026 |
| Gardner Pet Vortex (plastic row) | Plastic | Polypropylene (PP) tray. | Polypropylene (PP) body. | Not stated. | Not stated. | Record; listing Oct 11, 2026 |
| PETKIT EverSweet Solo SE (plastic row) | Plastic | ABS tank and tray. No stainless surface. | ABS (BPA-free) and silicone. | PETKIT FAQ: parts are not dishwasher safe. | No part-by-part list in the record. | Record, Oct 19, 2026 |
A stainless label can name the tray or the tank
On the EverSweet 3 Pro, the record puts 304 stainless steel on the tank and ABS on the drinking tray. The manual says “Please clean the stainless steel part of the product before use” and does not call the tray that part.
On the EVERSWEET MAX Cordless, the steel part is the tray: “304 Stainless Steel Water Control Tray” and materials “ABS, 304 Stainless Steel.” The record checked Oct 20, 2026 adds a non-stick coating and an ABS body. It does not say the tank is steel.
The MAX 2 sheet is titled “PETKIT EVERSWEET MAX 2 (CORDLESS).” It does not name a steel part, and it is not a CT-W3 instruction. Gardner Pet Cordless and the Vortex are the pair in Gardner Pet cordless vs Vortex.
Where the dishwasher instructions leave the pump out
Avalon says “Dishwasher Safe (excluding pump)” and “THE PUMP IS NOT DISHWASHER SAFE!” Other parts may be hand washed, or the fountain may go in the top rack after the pump is out.
The Drinkwell Original manual, a plastic model, uses the same capital sentence: “THE PUMP IS NOT DISHWASHER SAFE!” The 360 manual allows the fountain in the dishwasher, then “DO NOT PLACE PUMP IN DISHWASHER!”
The MAX 2 sheet says: “Do not put the control module, base, wireless water pump, or filter into the dishwasher.” It allows the water tray, lid, filter holder, water tank, and outlet pipe. That sheet is not the CT-W3 manual. The Raindrop bullet does not add a pump exception. The listing does not say whether the pump can go in the dishwasher; every manual on this page that mentions the pump keeps it out. Gardner Cordless sources do not mention a dishwasher; the battery module cannot be immersed.
Basin and pump warranty lines are not the same length
Glacier Point covers its ceramic basin against leaks for 20 years but its pump for 6 months, with its own cleaning conditions; the full terms are in how long cat water fountain pumps last.
Listings and manuals behind this parts table
Rows were checked on Oct 28, 2026 against the manuals, the MAX 2 sheet, the Glacier Point warranty, the Avalon and Raindrop listings, and the site records dated in the table.
Material is only one part of choosing a fountain; placement, power, and flow are covered in how to choose a cat water fountain. This page stops at parts and dishwasher lines.
Product-selection path
Products referenced in this guide

A drinking spot away from an outlet, or a home that wants water to keep flowing through short power cuts, where intermittent flow on battery is acceptable
- Best for
- A drinking spot away from an outlet, or a home that wants water to keep flowing through short power cuts, where intermittent flow on battery is acceptable
- Before buying
- Confirm the current listing details.
Skip if: You want continuous flow without keeping it plugged in, need remote app control without another PETKIT Wi-Fi device.
What to verify before buying
Product listings can change. Check the exact variant, size, ingredient or material information, directions, warnings, seller, return terms and current availability before buying.
Last checked: 2026-10-20. This page does not present hands-on product testing.

A home with an outlet near the drinking spot that wants a stainless tank, app-adjustable smart or continuous flow, and filter reminders
- Best for
- A home with an outlet near the drinking spot that wants a stainless tank, app-adjustable smart or continuous flow, and filter reminders
- Before buying
- Confirm the current listing details.
Skip if: You need cordless placement or battery backup, want a stainless drinking tray rather than a stainless tank, or will not use the app features.
What to verify before buying
Product listings can change. Check the exact variant, size, ingredient or material information, directions, warnings, seller, return terms and current availability before buying.
Last checked: 2026-10-19. This page does not present hands-on product testing.
- Source: Amazon product listing (ASIN B09QRH6L3M)
- Source
- Source: Manual PDF on the Amazon listing

Homes where the best drinking spot has no convenient outlet, or where a cord across the floor is a problem
- Best for
- Homes where the best drinking spot has no convenient outlet, or where a cord across the floor is a problem
- Before buying
- Confirm the current listing details.
Skip if: You want continuous flow away from an outlet, prefer a long track record, or do not want to add another device to your charging routine.
What to verify before buying
Product listings can change. Check the exact variant, size, ingredient or material information, directions, warnings, seller, return terms and current availability before buying.
Last checked: 2026-10-11. This page does not present hands-on product testing.
- Source: Amazon product listing (ASIN B0H392WP8Z)
- Source: Amazon product listing (ASIN B0H38SKYQ1)
Sources
- Source
- Source
- Source
- Source
- Source
- Source
- Source
- Amazon product listing (ASIN B00BD3TO82)
- Amazon product listing (ASIN B005LVJM4I)
- Amazon product listing (ASIN B09QRH6L3M)
- Amazon product listing (ASIN B0CXHM344N)
- Amazon product listing (ASIN B0H392WP8Z)
- Amazon product listing (ASIN B0F53XVG7M)
- Amazon product listing (ASIN B0BF5CQMKX)
FAQ
Does this parts table rank a ceramic cat water fountain against stainless steel?
No. This page only records which part is which material and which parts a manual or listing allows in a dishwasher. There is no ranking. For a buying path that starts with where the cat drinks, power, and flow, use the cat water fountain choosing guide.
Is the EverSweet 3 Pro drinking tray stainless steel?
No. The site record, checked Oct 19, 2026, says the water tank is 304 stainless steel and the drinking tray is ABS plastic, from PETKIT’s compare table. Materials on that record are ABS, silicone, 304 stainless steel, and PP. The 3 Pro manual says to clean the stainless steel part before use. It does not say the tray is that part, and it does not mention a dishwasher.
Which parts does the EVERSWEET MAX 2 cleaning sheet keep out of the dishwasher?
The PETKIT EVERSWEET MAX 2 (Cordless) cleaning sheet says to place the water tray, lid, filter holder, water tank, and outlet pipe in the dishwasher. It says not to put the control module, base, wireless water pump, or filter into the dishwasher. That sheet is a newer model than the site’s EVERSWEET MAX Cordless. Do not apply the list to the CT-W3 manual, which does not mention a dishwasher.
Does the CT-W3 manual for the site MAX Cordless name a dishwasher?
The CT-W3 manual read on Oct 28, 2026 does not mention a dishwasher. It names a 304 Stainless Steel Water Control Tray and lists materials as ABS and 304 Stainless Steel. The site record describes a 304 stainless steel drinking tray with a non-stick coating and an ABS body. Those material lines are not a dishwasher permission.
What crack exclusion does Glacier Point print on the basin guarantee?
Glacier Point’s warranty says the ceramic basin is guaranteed not to leak for 20 years and will be replaced if it leaks and the leak is not the result of cracks from temperature or physical shock. The pump promise on the same page is separate: replacement if the pump ceases to function within 6 months, with its own cleaning conditions. This page quotes both lines and does not turn them into a material ranking.