Source-checked research · Affiliate disclosure always visibleHow this site is funded
Pet Product CompassPet Product CompassPractical pet buying guides, starting with automatic feeders.
Menu

Buying guide

How Long Do Cat Water Fountain Pumps Last? Warranty Data

How long do cat water fountain pumps last? No manual we read states a lifespan in years. Makers publish warranty length and how often to clean the pump.

Editorial buying guide · Updated · ByPet Product Compass Editorial ·Editorial policy ·Methodology

PETKIT Replacement Wireless Pump for EverSweet Wireless-Pump Fountains product format referenced in this guide

How long do cat water fountain pumps last? No maker in the documents read for this page publishes a lifespan in years. What they do print is a warranty length and a pump-cleaning interval. The PETKIT EVERSWEET MAX Cordless manual says the service life of the water pump may vary depending on different usage and maintenance, and to replace the pump if necessary. It gives no year count.

If the pump has stopped, the checks are in cat water fountain not pumping water. This page does not repeat those steps. It records warranty length and cleaning intervals.

This page is based on warranty pages, manuals, a pump listing, and one store page read on Oct 28, 2026. The PETKIT fit list uses the site record checked Oct 17, 2026.

How long do cat water fountain pumps last in the documents

A blank warranty cell means that source did not state a term. A cleaning interval is not a promise the pump reaches that date.

BrandWarranty on the fountain or pumpPump-cleaning intervalCondition that can limit coverSource
PETKIT (US policy)1 year from delivery via PETKIT US or authorized US distributors. A 2-year list from Jan 1, 2025 names EverSweet Ultra only among fountains.Listing: disassemble and clean at least once every two weeks. Manual: service life may vary.Dishwasher use contrary to the manual. A replaced part does not restart the warranty.US warranty policy; CT-W3 manual; ASIN B0B2DM5Q7N, Oct 17, 2026
PetSafe Drinkwell“ONE YEAR NON-TRANSFERABLE LIMITED WARRANTY” for the original buyer from an authorized reseller. Unauthorized sellers are not covered. PetSafe.com returns: 45 days.Every two weeks (Original, Avalon, 360).Original and Avalon: warranty may be voided if the motor is not cleaned regularly. 360: if the pump is not cleaned regularly.Warranty page; three manuals, Oct 28, 2026
Catit Flower Fountain2 years from purchase for defective parts and workmanship, with proof of purchase.PIXI pump page: clean pump and impeller monthly. Flower manual lines used here set no interval.Does not cover wear and tear, or parts not adequately or correctly maintained.Flower manual; PIXI pump page
Glacier PointPump replaced if it ceases within 6 months of purchase. Ceramic basin: 20 years against leaks.At least once weekly, including the impeller and impeller well, or that skip is not covered.Run with no water; skipped weekly clean; mineral blockage. Basin: leaks from “cracks from temperature or physical shock” excluded.Glacier Point warranty
Pioneer Pet RaindropNot stated in the bullets we read.Fountain once a week; disassemble and clean the pump once a month.Not stated in those bullets.Listing ASIN B005LVJM4I, Oct 28, 2026

The US warranty policy says products from the PETKIT site or authorized US distributors “come with a 1-year limited warranty from the date of delivery.” The 2-year list is “Purobot Ultra, Purobot Max 3, Purobot Max Pro/2, PuraMax 2, Purobot Crystal Duo, EverSweet Ultra, YumShare Solo/2, YumShare Dual-hopper/2,” for purchases on or after January 1, 2025. EverSweet Ultra is the only fountain named. EVERSWEET MAX, 3 Pro, and Solo SE are not on it. Third-party retail purchases follow that seller’s terms.

Why a warranty length is not a pump lifespan

A warranty is the period the maker agrees to repair, replace, or refund for defects, on the printed conditions, tied to purchase or delivery. These documents do not turn that period into a running life.

The EVERSWEET MAX Cordless manual says: “The service life of the water pump may vary depending on different usage and maintenance.” Next: “Replace the water pump with a new one if necessary.” No year is attached.

Glacier Point’s warranty page says: “With regular care the pump should last many years.” The same paragraph says the pump is not covered if it “is left running with no water, if it is not cleaned at least once weekly including the removing of the impeller and cleaning inside the impeller well housing or if high mineral content in the water blocks the impeller.” “Many years” is the maker’s statement. It is not the 6-month replacement window, and it is not a measured lifespan.

Catit’s Flower Fountain guarantee is “2 years from the date of purchase” and “does not cover wear and tear or parts which have not been adequately or correctly maintained.” The PIXI pump page says: “In most cases, this normally restores your pump to full working order!” That sentence is about cleaning the pump and impeller. It does not say a PIXI pump lasts two years. The Flower Fountain and the PIXI pump are different products in these sources.

The Original manual adds: “Clean the Pump every two weeks. Warranty may be voided if the Pump’s motor is not cleaned regularly.” That condition sits on top of the one-year defects warranty. Glacier Point’s 20-year line is the ceramic basin, not the pump.

Fit lists for a replacement fountain pump

Before buying a replacement pump, check its fit list. Listing ASIN B0B2DM5Q7N, checked Oct 17, 2026, names EverSweet Max, EverSweet 3 Pro, EverSweet Solo 2, and EverSweet Solo SE. It says the pump is not suitable for the EverSweet 3. The listing also says: “Disassemble and clean the pump at least once every two weeks.” Solo SE’s site record names that ASIN. Opening the wireless pump is in how to clean a cat water fountain.

Catit’s PIXI page says the pump fits the PIXI Fountain and the PIXI Stainless Steel Fountain and is “not suitable for the Catit PIXI Smart Fountain.” Clean the pump and impeller monthly. One owner review on that page says the original “only last 1 year.” That is a single review, not Catit’s figure and not an average.

PETKIT’s continuity line: “the original warranty period remains in effect based on the original purchase date; it does not restart.” PetSafe limits the one-year warranty to an authorized reseller. Under PETKIT’s policy, then, a replacement pump does not start a new warranty period; the other warranty pages read here do not address this. Noise before a stop is mapped on why a cat water fountain is making noise.

Documents behind these pump-life notes

In short: none of the pages read on Oct 28, 2026 gives a pump lifespan in years. PETKIT says service life may vary. PetSafe prints one year and a two-week clean, with a voiding line if the motor is skipped. Catit Flower Fountain prints two years and excludes wear and poor maintenance. Glacier Point prints six months on the pump, with a weekly impeller clean, and a separate 20-year basin leak line. Pioneer Pet’s Raindrop listing prints a monthly pump clean and no warranty term in the bullets we used.

If the pump has already stopped, use the not-pumping guide for the checks. This page is the published intervals and the exclusions.

Product-selection path

Products referenced in this guide

PETKIT Replacement Wireless Pump for EverSweet Wireless-Pump Fountains product preview

Owners of a listed PETKIT wireless-pump fountain whose pump still does not move water after refilling, cleaning, reseating, and checking power and mode

Best for
Owners of a listed PETKIT wireless-pump fountain whose pump still does not move water after refilling, cleaning, reseating, and checking power and mode
Before buying
Confirm the current listing details.

Skip if: You own an EverSweet 3 (the listing says it is not compatible), a non-PETKIT fountain, or you have not yet tried cleaning the pump, impeller, and foam pre-filter.

What to verify before buying

Product listings can change. Check the exact variant, size, ingredient or material information, directions, warnings, seller, return terms and current availability before buying.

Last checked: 2026-10-17. This page does not present hands-on product testing.

  • Source: Amazon product listing (ASIN B0B2DM5Q7N)
  • Source: Amazon product listing (ASIN B0B3RWF653)
  • Source: Amazon product listing (ASIN B0BF5CQMKX)
PETKIT EVERSWEET MAX Cordless Cat Water Fountain, 3 L product preview

A drinking spot away from an outlet, or a home that wants water to keep flowing through short power cuts, where intermittent flow on battery is acceptable

Best for
A drinking spot away from an outlet, or a home that wants water to keep flowing through short power cuts, where intermittent flow on battery is acceptable
Before buying
Confirm the current listing details.

Skip if: You want continuous flow without keeping it plugged in, need remote app control without another PETKIT Wi-Fi device.

What to verify before buying

Product listings can change. Check the exact variant, size, ingredient or material information, directions, warnings, seller, return terms and current availability before buying.

Last checked: 2026-10-20. This page does not present hands-on product testing.

  • Source: Amazon product listing (ASIN B0CXHM344N)
  • Source
  • Source
PETKIT EverSweet 3 Pro Cat Water Fountain, Stainless Steel, Wireless Pump product preview

A home with an outlet near the drinking spot that wants a stainless tank, app-adjustable smart or continuous flow, and filter reminders

Best for
A home with an outlet near the drinking spot that wants a stainless tank, app-adjustable smart or continuous flow, and filter reminders
Before buying
Confirm the current listing details.

Skip if: You need cordless placement or battery backup, want a stainless drinking tray rather than a stainless tank, or will not use the app features.

What to verify before buying

Product listings can change. Check the exact variant, size, ingredient or material information, directions, warnings, seller, return terms and current availability before buying.

Last checked: 2026-10-19. This page does not present hands-on product testing.

  • Source: Amazon product listing (ASIN B09QRH6L3M)
  • Source
  • Source: Manual PDF on the Amazon listing
PETKIT EverSweet Solo SE Cat Water Fountain, 1.8 L, Wireless Pump product preview

A one- or two-cat home with an outlet near the drinking spot that wants a compact PETKIT fountain and is fine with continuous flow and no app

Best for
A one- or two-cat home with an outlet near the drinking spot that wants a compact PETKIT fountain and is fine with continuous flow and no app
Before buying
Confirm the current listing details.

Skip if: You need the fountain to run away from an outlet or during a power cut, want adjustable or intermittent flow, or prefer a stainless drinking surface.

What to verify before buying

Product listings can change. Check the exact variant, size, ingredient or material information, directions, warnings, seller, return terms and current availability before buying.

Last checked: 2026-10-19. This page does not present hands-on product testing.

  • Source: Amazon product listing (ASIN B0BF5CQMKX)
  • Source
  • Source: Manual PDF on the Amazon listing

Sources

FAQ

Do these makers publish a fountain pump lifespan in years?

No document read for this page states a lifespan in years. The PETKIT EVERSWEET MAX Cordless manual says the service life of the water pump may vary depending on different usage and maintenance, and to replace the pump if necessary. PetSafe, Catit, Glacier Point, and Pioneer Pet publish warranty length, a cleaning interval, or both. They do not publish a year count for how long the pump runs.

How long is the PetSafe Drinkwell limited warranty?

PetSafe’s return and warranty page states a one year non-transferable limited warranty for a product bought from an authorized reseller, for one year from delivery, when used in normal residential conditions. The Drinkwell Original, Avalon, and 360 manuals say to clean the pump every two weeks. Original and Avalon say the warranty may be voided if the pump’s motor is not cleaned regularly. The 360 manual says the warranty may be voided if the pump is not cleaned regularly.

Does a replaced PETKIT part start the warranty over?

No. PETKIT’s US warranty policy says that if PETKIT replaces a product or its parts, the original warranty period remains in effect based on the original purchase date; it does not restart. The standard US term is 1 year from delivery for purchases through the PETKIT site or authorized US distributors. A 2-year list for purchases on or after January 1, 2025 names EverSweet Ultra among fountains and does not name EverSweet MAX, 3 Pro, or Solo SE.

What pump-cleaning condition does Glacier Point attach to coverage?

Glacier Point says it will replace a pump that ceases to function within 6 months of purchase. The pump is not covered if it is left running with no water, if it is not cleaned at least once weekly including removing the impeller and cleaning inside the impeller well, or if high mineral content blocks the impeller. The same page says that with regular care the pump should last many years. That sentence is the maker’s statement, not a measured lifespan.

What did one Catit PIXI owner write about the original pump?

One review on the Catit UK PIXI replacement-pump page says the original pump did “only last 1 year.” That is a single review, dated April 26, 2026 on the page data, not a lifespan figure and not a sample. The same page says monthly cleaning of the pump and impeller normally restores full working order in most cases, and that this replacement pump is not suitable for the Catit PIXI Smart Fountain.